Freelicious Gluten Free corn Couscous review

Oh my gosh! What a long time it has been since I have posted!

It was never my intention to stop posting, but financially I had to stop for awhile as I just couldn’t afford to keep trying new things. Luckily, in two weeks I should be starting my new job so from there I shall make a huge effort to post more often!

In the last few months though, I’ve been sooo pleased to see that Countdown have started to release their own brand of foods, including Gluten free! I near lost it over Christmas when I could have mint cookies and not have to share the pack with anyone! I’ll make sure to post about their products as some point soon (more cake and cookies for my face!)

Forward march!

So today I was super nervous about meeting my first ever ECE client, so nervous that i couldn’t bring myself to eat breakfast, so naturally I was STARVING by the time she left. I had dreams of takeaways but when you have no money, you take what you can get.

I remembered that a few weeks back I had actually purchased a box of gluten free couscous. I dunno about you, but I could eat couscous and tuna everyday! YUM. So when i saw the box at the supermarket of course I grabbed it!

Taking it out if the bag was a shock! Bright Yellow! But of course, it’s corn so what did i expect?

I followed the instructions exactly, to make sure i was getting it right – especially with GF products, you never really know how they will actually turn out!

After following the instructions and taking my first bite, i knew that I needed to add more water. The instructions say 1 cup – I’d say add 1 1/2 because 1 just leaves it crunchy like popcorn husks.

20160212_130518

I didn’t want to add too much as there is nothing worse than over soggy food. After cooking it as much as i was willing to this time, i took it out and try it! The texture is really not great, its a mixture of hard and soft couscous (i honestly might try more water next time) and it just tastes like popcorn husks…Weird, soggy popcorn husks. Not only that, but a decent mouthful reminds me of when you try to eat dry weetbix – almost insta-dry mouth!

20160212_131052

The chilli tuna i added made the dish OK but nothing better than ok. It made eating my lunch into a chore, and in all honesty, i’m fighting a losing battle not to go to the Chinese shop round the corner to get something delicious.

 

20160212_130654

This couscous should never be eaten on it’s own, I think if you found good enough flavours, it would be an ok dish, but nothing mind blowing. Cheaper and tastier to stick to rice.

Out of 5 I would rate this:

2/5.

For the cost (about $5) I really don’t think this product was worth it. As my flatmate says, if you HAVE to add something to it then it’s not that good. Which is true. Normal couscous i could eat on its own and still enjoy it, but to finish this box off i’ll likely be throwing cans of tuna at it.

I don’t think i will get this again, however, i might try making something with the left-overs i cooked today and see if i can alter my opinion 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment